


PORTRUSH, Northern Ireland — Irishman Shane Lowry, who won the British Open the last time it was played at Portrush, was assessed a two-shot penalty for accidentally moving his ball with a practice swing before his second shot on the par-5 12th hole.
When Lowry finished his round, he was 2-under par for the tournament, but met with rules officials afterward before signing his card and it was determined that his ball moved as he took a practice swing.
So, the par he’d carded on No. 12 became a double-bogey and instead of being 2-under entering the weekend, Lowry is even par, 10 shots behind leader Scottie Scheffler.
According to a source, Lowry pled his case to the tournament officials, but for naught.
“I didn’t know anything happened until walking up the 15th fairway and then the rules official came over and told me that there was a possibility the ball moved on the 12th for my second shot,’’ Lowry said afterward.

“I feel like I played well on the way in and then obviously waited to see. I told them I definitely was looking down towards the ball as I was taking that practice swing, and I didn’t see it move. I had to take the penalty because I can’t have my name talked about or tossed around like that, and I just get on with it. It’s obviously very disappointing. I’ll just have to dust myself off and get out there tomorrow and give it a go.’’