


The Packers appeared to be on the right side of a botched call — and quickly took advantage of it.
With the third quarter of their “Thursday Night Football” matchup with the Lions coming to a close, Jordan Love and the Packers looked to get back into the game near midfield.
The Green Bay signal-caller got off the snap as the seconds ticked down and then fired a deep bomb down the near side to receiver Jayden Reed for a 44-yard completion deep into Detroit territory.
The only problem?
The play appeared to be snapped well after the game clock hit 0:00, which should have completely stopped the play before it happened.
Instead, the Packers got the big gain and eventually cashed in on the second play of the fourth quarter when Love scampered in for a nine-yard touchdown.
Stream the game live on Thursday night on Amazon Prime Video
While on the broadcast, rules analyst Terry McAulay explained that teams get extra leeway on the play clock, but when it comes to the game clock, things should be stopped immediately.
“The clock clearly hits zero before the ball is snapped,” McAulay said. “It’s not treated like the play clock where there’s somewhat of a delay between shutting it down and being called for a delay of game. Once the game clock hits zero, it’s over, it should be shut down on the field by the officials.”
And, one might be wondering, why couldn’t the officials simply gather and review the play to make sure the clock hadn’t triple zeros?
As McAulay explained, the play is not reviewable, which gave the Packers the play in spite of the glaring mistake.
Though the Packers did get the benefit of the doubt on the call, things didn’t bounce their way on the whole as they fell to the Lions 34-20 and are now 2-2.